Moon pictures/visit to Second Street Market

21 Jun

I woke up at around 4:30 AM the other night and couldn’t get back to sleep.  That is another symptom in Parkinson’s – sleep disturbance.  I noticed that the moon was full, so I got out my camera, 70-300 zoom lens and tripod for a picture-taking session.  There were clouds crossing over the moon which I hoped to capture, but they didn’t turn out, the sky was too dark around the moon.  Take a look at the pictures at the link:

http://creationsourceimages.photoshelter.com/gallery/Moon-Click-picture-to-enlarge-or-order/G00006kUOn0Tsinw/

(At website, click on image to enlarge)

Also, a few Saturdays ago Carol and I went to the Second Street Market in downtown Dayton.  I had a good time snapping some pictures of the colorful sights there.  The cabbage roll I had was excellent.  A very enjoyable place to visit! See the link:

http://creationsourceimages.photoshelter.com/gallery/Second-Street-Market-Dayton-OH-Click-picture-to-enlarge-or-order/G0000iZDkFRNdalU/

I haven’t posted much recently because I have been concentrating on remodeling the basement, which has turned out to be an enjoyable project but very slow because I can only work a little while at a time.  Another symptom of Parkinson’s is fatigue.  So after a little while of working, I have to rest to regain my strength.  That lengthens out a project quite a bit (from weeks into months).  That is a lot different than when I originally worked on the basement when we moved into this house in 1992.  About 1/3 of the basement was finished and I built 4 additional rooms into the remaining space each evening after working 8-10 hours that day. 

Sounds like I’m whining about my current lot in life, but God has allowed this disease to impact me.  I can either choose to move on with Parkinson’s or give up and give in to the symptoms.  He doesn’t promise to heal every infirmity or take away every pain but I keep going back to Paul’s writing in 2 Corinthians 12:9-10: “My grace is all you need.  My power works best in weakness.  That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecution and troubles that I suffer for Christ.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 

It is in my attitudes that Christ can gain the victory as I choose victory over defeat, strength over despair, helping people who are worse off than me rather than lounging in my own troubles.  God has a purpose for each one of us, even those who struggle to move or speak well or work a part-time job.  Each day is a new adventure.  I need to grab life and live it in the fullest way possible.

2 Responses to “Moon pictures/visit to Second Street Market”

  1. carol ekblad February 29, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    Hi Gary and Carol,

    Bonnie Bienert forwarded me Cheryl’s email today and I wanted to say how good it was to see your Youtube video, Gary…….and to view some of your photography……..and to hear how God has been faithful to you and Carol. I have such wonderful memories of GFC in Baltimore and you guys were a part of that. Please know I will pray for you when the Lord brings you guys to mind.

    Glad to be His,

    Carol Dethmer Ekblad

    • Creation Source Images February 29, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      Carol, Thanks for your contact! It has been a long time since we had any contact. Hope things are going well for you.

      The Parkinson’s journey has been a challenge, but God has a plan for each of us. I am medically retired but besides times when I can’t speak clearly I feel pretty good since my DBS operation. I have changed careers from sales and have morphed into a “professional volunteer photographer.” This is a passion for me, so to be able to make photography a priority and serve God with it is a very real blessing. Carol is doing well, working as a social worker with seniors helping them stay in their homes and out of the nursing home. Two of your kids are married and Brad, our younger son lives with us and just got a full time job.

      In Him, Gary

Leave a Reply

