Revolutionary War Heros

4 Sep

I recently spent some time in the “Bellbrook Pioneer Cemetery.”  You might ask, “Why spend time in a cemetery?”  Like a funeral, a cemetery can spur thoughts of life even thought they are places of death and darkness.

I ask questions to myself among the tombstones.  “What was your life like?”  “What challenges in life did you face?”  “Who did you love and who loved you back?”  Many of these people lived 50, 60, 70 or more year on this planet in a very different time from today – no electric lights, no cars, no computers, no trillion dollar deficits.

Link:  Pioneer Cemetery:

http://creationsourceimages.photoshelter.com/gallery-list

The very interesting thing about this particular cemetery are the tombstones of Revolutionary War Soldiers!  There are little bronze standards showing their status.  These people had to be born in the 1700’s, obviously!  That puts them as witnesses to the birth of our nation!  The cycle of life shows up here!  Questions come to mind like, “Does my life have meaning?”  “Will I be remembered after I am dead?”  “Why is being remembered (a legacy) so important to many people?”

I also visited the Wright Brothers cemetery plots.  It was an interesting feeling being close to their final resting place.  It seemed as if I could touch a little piece of their lives by standing there.  They became much more than words in a history book.  Their accomplishments have changed the world!

This life is short, little more than a single comma would be in the whole Bible.  But, through Jesus’ sacrifice as a substitute for us, taking the punishment for the sins we committed, our comma turns into an eternity busting reality in HIM!  People may not remember me in the future years, but I am secure in the eternal nature of God.  I don’t need a library to be named after me or the invention of the airplane  to be significant.  My significance comes from God’s love, from the service I give to the people around me and from my efforts to make His name known around the world.

Leave a Reply

