A Small Treasure Found

22 Jan

Have you ever opened a drawer you haven’t looked in for a while and as you peer into this forgotten space you discover a $20 bill or an object you forgot you had.  Well, for a photographer that is like opening one your photo files (one of more 140+ folders) and finding fresh RAW files which have never been edited.  A RAW file is a setting on digital cameras which does not compress the images at all and leaves them completely unprocessed, unlike JPEG images.  JPEG compress the pictures you take immediately after capturing the image. This can be helpful, as it keeps the file sizes low (using JPEG compression) and takes care of color correction, including white-balance, tint, and exposure, so you don’t have to.  (see: http://www.techterms.com/definition/cameraraw)  RAW files are sometimes HUGE (as large as 7 MB or more), but these days memory is cheap, so why not!   However, when I bought my laptop, I built it for photography with a 500 GB hard drive, which means LOTS of storage!  I still don’t want many 7 MB RAW files just hanging out, so when I discover them, I edit them or delete them.  When you look at the RAW file on the computer you don’t see the picture until you double click and open it up in Photoshop (or some other photo editing software).  So, it is like finding the forgotten $20 in a drawer!

I discovered these bee photos this morning (I couldn’t sleep – awake at 2:30 AM – another Parkinson’s symptom).  I originally took the pictures in September, 2010 with my prior camera (Nikon D80) and when I first bought my 60 mm macro lens.  So, a lot of the shots were blurry and deleted right away.  Here are two of the remaining gems:

Go to my website link to see the rest of them:

http://creationsourceimages.photoshelter.com/gallery/Bee-Photography-Click-on-image-to-enlarge-or-purchase/G0000U3U03Is.4Z4

Leave a Reply

